Judges

Ami Vitale is a photographer, writer and filmmaker who over the years has witnessed civil unrest and violence, but also surreal beauty and the enduring power of the human spirit. She has lived in mud huts and war zones, contracted malaria, and donned a panda suit—all in keeping with her philosophy of “living the story.”

She is an Ambassador for Nikon and a contract photographer with National Geographic magazine and has garnered prestigious awards including multiple prizes from World Press Photos, the International Photographer of the Year prize, the Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding Reporting and named Magazine Photographer of the Year by the National Press Photographer's Association, among others.

Vitale is currently focused on making films and shooting stories about the planet’s most pressing issues, including wildlife on the edge of extinction, climate change-precipitated migration, and the struggles and triumphs of the human spirit. She lectures and teaches workshops throughout the Americas, Europe, and Asia, and her work is exhibited in museums, galleries, and private collections worldwide.

Harvey is founder and editor of the award-winning Burn magazine, featuring iconic and emerging photographers in print and online. Harvey went on to shoot over forty essays for National Geographic magazine. He has covered stories around the world, including projects on French teenagers, the Berlin Wall, Maya culture, Vietnam, Native Americans, Mexico and Naples, and a recent feature on Nairobi. He was named Magazine Photographer of the Year by the National Press Photographers Association in 1978.

He has published two major books, Cuba and Divided Soul, based on his extensive work on the Spanish cultural migration into the Americas, and his book Living Proof (2007) deals with hip-hop culture.

His work has been exhibited at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, the Nikon Gallery, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, and the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Workshops and seminars are an important part of his life. He joined Magnum as a nominee in 1993 and became a full member in 1997.

Ed Kashi is a photojournalist, filmmaker, speaker, and educator dedicated to documenting the social and political issues that define our times. He has covered topics as diverse as the impact of the oil industry in Nigeria, the protestant community in Northern Ireland, the lives of Jewish settlers in the West Bank, the impact of early onset Alzheimer’s, climate change, the plight of Syrian refugees, and the relationship between sugar cane and Chronic Kidney Disease in Nicaragua. A member of VII Photo Agency since 2010, Kashi has been recognized for his complex imagery and its compelling rendering of the human condition.

In recent times, he earned recognition by the POYi Awards as 2015’s Multimedia Photographer of the Year. From implementing a unique approach to photography and filmmaking in his 2006 Iraqi Kurdistan Flipbook, Kashi’s prowess led him to a real-time Instagram coverage of Hurricane Sandy for TIME Magazine in 2012. Through his editorial assignments and personal projects Kashi has published eight books, including Curse of the Black Gold: 50 Years of Oil in the Niger Delta, THREE, and Photojournalisms.

Gunther Wegner is the founder and developer of the market-leading solution for time lapse photography, LRTimelapse. He is also considered a pioneer in the research of time-lapse photography.

In 2012, Wegner decided to leave his regular job in IT project management and fully dedicate himself to his talents in the fields of time-lapse, photography, film making and blogging. He has also worked for multiple German broadcasters including NDR Naturfilm as well as Japan’s national broadcasting organization, NHK.

Wegner’s portfolio of works includes; African Skies, Altiplano Skies, and most recently Northern Skies 4K. He has judged many photography competitions around the world, most recently at the ‘Time-lapse Film Festival in Los Angeles’.

Jean-François Leroy is a photo-journalist whose career has included stints at Photo-Reporter, Le Photographe, Photo-Revue, Photo Magazine and the Sipa-press agency. In 1989, he completed a project in collaboration with famous French photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand titled ‘3 Days in France’, which looked at France’s history in the 150 years since the advent of photography.

He is the current CEO and owner of ‘Images Evidence’ and ‘New Evidence’ and has been running the world renowned Visa Pour l’Image photojournalism festival since 1989.

Khalil Hamra is an award winning Palestinian photojournalist who has been working for the Associated Press News agency since 2002. He has received over 20 international photography awards and accolades throughout his career, mostly for his work inside conflict zones and revolutions.

In 2013, Khalil won the Pulitzer Prize for breaking news, for his work in covering the Syrian civil war in 2012. In 2009, Hamra was recognized by the Overseas Press Club of America with its Robert Capa Gold Medal for his series covering the war in Gaza that same year. He also received several awards for his coverage of the Egyptian revolution and its aftermath, from January 2011 till May 2014.

Peter Bill began to experiment with time-lapse photography through his passion for painting. His desire to capture the movement of sunlight across landscapes helped him realise that he could only do so through time-lapse photography. This began a long journey in the artform for Bill, firstly using Super-8 film and the earliest digital SLR cameras to eventually founding the first time-lapse film festival in North America, and his many works today.

Peter Bill's award winning workss have been shown in various locations around the world including; New York, Seattle, São Paulo and other international venues. To this day, he continues to mix his passion for oil painting and video work and often weaves both artforms to create a unique mixture of pixels and paint. He has judged many photography competitions around the world, most recently at the ‘Time-lapse Film Festival in Los Angeles’.

Randy Olson is a documentary photographer who has had feature articles published in LIFE, GEO, Smithsonian and other magazines, but has primarily worked on projects for the National Geographic Society.

Randy’s numerous National Geographic projects have taken him to almost every continent. National Geographic Society published a book of his work in 2011 in their Masters of Photography series. Olson was the Magazine Photographer of the Year in the Pictures of the Year International (POYi) competition, and was also awarded POYi’s Newspaper Photographer of the Year—one of only two photographers to win in both media in the largest photojournalism contest operating continuously since World War II.

While working as a newspaper photographer at The Pittsburgh Press, Olson received an Alicia Patterson Foundation Fellowship to support a seven-year project documenting a family with AIDS, and a first place Robert F. Kennedy Award for his story on problems with Section 8 housing. He was also awarded the Nikon Sabbatical grant and a grant from the National Archives to save the Pictures of the Year collection.

In 2011, Randy founded The Photo Society that is open to any photographer who has produced a full-length story for National Geographic magazine. The purpose of the organization is to find economic opportunities and provide exposure to members as the economics of print dwindles.

 

Share on Facebook

لجنة التحكيم

مصوّرة وكاتبة ومخرجة كانت شاهدة على العديد من الاضطرابات المدنية وأعمال العنف، وعلى الضفة الأخرى نقلت لنا سريالية الجمال وقوة الروح البشرية. عاشت في أكواخ الطين ومناطق الحروب وأصيبت بالملاريا. كما أنها لبست بدلة "الباندا" تماشياً مع فلسفتها "عش تفاصيل قصتك".

فيتالي من سفراء "نيكون" ومصور متعاقد مع مجلة ناشيونال جيوغرافيك، حصلت Word Press على جوائز مرموقة بما فيها عدة جوائز من جائزة الصحافة العالمية وجائزة المصور الدولي السنوية و جائزة دانيال بيرل للتقارير المتميزة وجائزة Photos مصور المجلات السنوية من قبل الرابطة الوطنية للمصورين الصحافيين، وغيرها من الجوائز.

وتركّز فيتالي حالياً على صناعة الأفلام والقصص المصوّرة حول القضايا الأكثر إلحاحاً في هذا العالم، بما في ذلك الحياة البرية المُعرّضة للانقراض والهجرة المتغيّرة جرّاء تغيّر المناخ، والنضالات والانتصارات البشرية. بالإضافة لتقديمها محاضرات وورش عمل في الأمريكيتين وأوروبا وآسيا، وأعمالها معروضة في المتاحف والمعارض والمقتنيات الخاصة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الداعمة لإبداعات الشباب، غطّى أكثر من 40 Burn magazine مؤسّس ومحرّر مجلة مادة صحفية مصوّرة لمجلة ناشيونال جيوغرافيك من كل أنحاء العالم تناول فيها جدار برلين وفيتنام وثقافة المايا والسكان الأصليين لأمريكا وقصته مع مشروعه عن نيروبي. حاصل على لقب مصور المجلات السنوي من قبل الرابطة الوطنية للمصورين الصحافيين.

نشر عدة كتب من أهمّها "إروها كما حصلت"، وكتاب"كوبا" و"الروح المنقسمة" من إطار عمله في شؤون الهجرة الثقافية الإسبانية إلى الأمريكيتين. وكتاب "الدليل الحيّ" والذي يتناول ثقافة الهيب هوب.

عُرضِت أعماله في معرض كوركوران للفنون، ومعرض نيكون، ومتحف الفن الحديث في نيويورك، ومتحف فرجينيا للفنون الجميلة، ويعتبر ورش العمل والندوات جزءً أساسياً في حياته. انضم لماغنوم كمرشّح عام 1993 وحصل على العضوية . الكاملة عام 1997

مصور صحافي ومخرج ومتحدّث وصاحب رسالة تعليمية خاصة بالقضايا الاجتماعية والسياسية المعاصرة. وقد قام بتغطية مواضيع متنوعة مثل تأثير صناعة النفط في نيجيريا والمجتمع البروستانتي في إيرلندا الشمالية، وحياة المستوطنين اليهود في الضفة الغربية، وتأثير البدايات المبكّرة لمرض الزهايمر، وتغيّر المناخ، ومحنة اللاجئين السوريين، والعلاقة بين قصب السكر وأمراض الكلى المزمنة في نيكاراغوا. وهو منذ عام 2010 وهو معروف بصوره ذات الحالات المعقّدة VII Photo Agency عضو في والمقنعة لما فيها من تكوينات إنسانية مؤثرة.

صور العام الدولية( كمصور الوسائط المتعدّدة للعام ( POYi حصل حديثاً على جائزة 2015 . انتقل كاشي من تطبيق نهجه الفريد في التصوير وصناعة الأفلام وكتابه عن كردستان العراق عام 2006 ، إلى استخدام البث المباشر لتطبيق إنستغرام في تغطية إعصار ساندي لمجلة تايم عام 2012 . قام بنشر 8 كتب منها: لعنة الذهب الأسود: 50 عاماً من النفط في دلتا النيجر، ثلاثة، التصوير الصحفي.

وهو time lapse مؤسّس ومطوّر الابتكار الرائد للتصوير بطريقة الفاصل الزمني وباحث وخبير في مجال التصوير بطريقة الفاصل الزمني. ،LRTimelapse

في عام 2012 ، قرّر غونتر ترك وظيفته العادية في إدارة مشاريع تكنولوجيا المعلومات وكرّس نفسه تماماً لمواهبه في مجالات التصوير بطريقة الفاصل والتصوير الفوتوغرافي، وصناعة الأفلام والمدوّنات. وقد عمل time lapse الزمني فضلاً عن NDR Naturfilm أيضاً في العديد من محطات البث الألمانية بما في ذلك .NHK جهاز التلفاز الحكومي الياباني

African Skies, Altiplano Skies, Northern Skies في جعبته عدد من الأعمال منها 4. قام بتحكيم العديد من المسابقات حول العالم آخرها مهرجان الفاصل k الزمني في لوس آنجلوس الأمريكية.

Photo Reporter, Le مصور صحافي مرت حياته المهنية بعدة محطات منها وقد أنهى ،Photographe, Photo-Revue, Photo Magazine, Sipa-press agency مشروعاً فوتوغرافياً مع المصور الفرنسي الشهير "يان أرثوس برتراند" بعنوان " 3 أيام في فرنسا" والذي يتناول تاريخ فرنسا منذ 150 عاماً منذ اكتشاف التصوير الفوتوغرافي.

،’New Evidence‘ و ’Images Evidence‘ ليروي هو المالك والرئيس التنفيذي لشركتي . الشهير للتصوير الصحافي منذ عام 1989 Visa Pour l’Image وكان يدير مهرجان

مصور فلسطيني يعمل لحساب وكالة أسوشييتد برس منذ عام 2002 . وحصل على أكثر من 20 جائزة دولية وأوسمة في جميع مراحل حياته المهنية، معظمها لعمله داخل مناطق الصراع والثورات.

أبرز الجوائز في مسيرة خليل كانت جائزة )البوليتزر( ضمن فريق الأسوشيتد برس عن تغطية أحداث الصراع السوري في العام 2013 ، وميدالية )روبرت كابا( الذهبية كأفضل مصور حرب عن تغطيته للعدوان الإسرائيلي على قطاع غزة في العام 2009 . بالإضافة للعديد من الجوائز الدولية عن تغطيته لأحداث الشرق الأوسط.

شغفه بالرسم قاده للتصوير، ورغبته في التقاط حركة أشعة الشمس عبر تضاريس الطبيعة جعلته يدرك أن الحل الوحيد يكمن في التصوير بطريقة الفاصل الزمني SLR والنسخة الرقمية الأحدث من كاميرات Super-8 film وباستخدام .time lapse استكمل رحلته الطويلة في عالم التصوير وصولاً لتنظيم أول مهرجان للأفلام في أمريكا الشمالية. time lapse بطريقة الفاصل الزمني

عُرضت أعمال بيل الفنية في عدة مواقع حول العالم منها نيويورك وسياتل وساوباولو، ولا يزال شغفه يقوده نحو إنتاج أعمالٍ بديعة بالرسم وبالفيديو. قام بتحكيم العديد من المسابقات حول العالم آخرها مهرجان الفاصل الزمني في لوس آنجلوس الأمريكية.

مصور وثائقيّ صاحب مقالات مميزة نُشرت في مجلات لايف، جيو، سميثسونيان وغيرها من المجلات. ولكن عمله في المقام الأول كان على مشاريع خاصة بالجمعية الجغرافية الوطنية.

هذه المشاريع طافت به كل قارات العالم تقريباً، وقد نشرت الجمعية كتاباً عن حصل على لقبي مصور .Masters of Photography أعماله عام 2011 في سلسلتها وجائزة التصوير الصحافي أيضاً، وهو مصور من اثنين ،POYi المجلات السنوي من فقط استطاعا الجمع بين أكبر جائزتين في التصوير الصحافي في العالم منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية.

حصل خلال عمله كمصور فوتوغرافي في مطبعة بيتسبرغ، على الزمالة في مؤسسة أليسيا باترسون لدعم مشروع مدته سبع سنوات لتوثيق عائلة مصابة في Section بالإيدز، وجائزة روبرت إف. كينيدي الأولى عن قصته حول مشاكل 8 السكن )وهي قضية خاصة بالقانون الأمريكي( . كما حصل على منحة نيكون سباتيكال ومنحة من الأرشيف الوطني لحفظ مجموعة الصور الخاصة بجائزة .Pictures of the Year

في عام 2011 ، أسس راندي جمعية الصور، وهي مفتوحة لأي مصور أنتج قصة كاملة لمجلة ناشيونال جيوغرافيك. والغرض من هذه المنظمة هو إيجاد فرص طباعة اقتصادية وتوفير الترويج للأعضاء نظراً لتضاؤل ميزانيات الطباعة.

 

اللحظة 2017-2018

صورة اليوم

Share on Facebook