Winners

"The Challenge" Category

Photo

Landfill Ballerina

A girl searching for recyclable items in a landfill in Guwahati, India. A small community lives inside this landfill and work as a team, some barefooted, sorting through mountains of garbage for less than $2 a day. They share this landfill with the endangered stork, the greater adjutant, along with some cows and dogs. The garbage is stacked very high and is very unpredictable since the ground beneath their feet can collapse at any time. The stench and fumes from the garbage is strong and heavy with animal feces and worms swimming everywhere in this ocean of trash. The homes in this community have no electricity or running water, and people live in an extremely unhealthy environment, with little to no chance of escaping.

Photo

A Butterfly in Water

A tattooed swimmer competing at the Italian National Paralympic Swimming Championships. The young man, whose arms are amputated, is the national champion in the 200 metres individual medley.

Photo

Knowledge, the Most Powerful Weapon

A boy on his way to school walks past an armed man in a Palestinian refugee camp in Lebanon. Children in refugee camps often face two options growing up; either join an armed group or attain an education which would be a stepping stone to a brighter future.

Photo

A Fight for Survival

Two white-tailed eagles fight over food in the cold Hungarian plains. The majestic adults duel with one another, sometimes to the death, in a bid to rein supreme and ensure they are well fed during the harsh winter months.

Photo

Grown Up Too Soon

In a small Syrian refugee camp on the Syrian-Jordanian border, there are no adults in sight as they are out looking for work. In the pitiful conditions, a small girl is left carrying her young infant sister who is draped in a dirty old blanket.

Photo

Angels of the Clinic

Time goes by very slowly in a cancer clinic for children in the Russian city of Novosibirsk. Despite the challenges and difficulties faced by the youngsters, they smile and play around as if everything is fine.

"Digital Manipulation" Category

Photo

Natura

Since ancient times, many believed that the world we live in resembles a single vessel which has both a soul and an intellect. An entity which itself is alive and is composed of other components that are inter-related and share common characteristics. Mother nature is a harmonious combination of a variety of plants and animals, representing fertility, continuity and unity.

Photo

The River of Life

Our lives and the time we spend on this earth are much like a river; it does not stop for anyone until we each reach our eventual and final destination. The beauty of this photograph doesn’t only lie in its representation of childhood and its place as a shore of safety, but the eventual drifting into the unknown once a human has reached an old age.

Photo

Distractions

With smart phone technology rapidly increasing, the use of a cellphone whilst driving has unfortunately become a common practice amongst many young drivers. The harsh reality is that this technology which has made our lives easier, in so many ways has now become a silent killer.

Photo

When She Grows Up

Memories can live inside a human being like flowers inside a vase. Sometimes memories can blossom inside a person and other times they can painfully wither inside a person’s mind for an entire lifetime. It is down to the owner of these memories/flowers to pick out the good ones and move on from the bad ones.

Photo

Submergence

Many humans deal with depression and anxiety on a daily basis. These two diseases can arise at an early age and often overwhelm a person whilst growing up, leading to a difficult life later on. With the right support and guidance though, the most difficult of situations can be made easier and the fight against this common enemy can be successfully achieved.

"General - Colour" Category

Photo

The Balance

A small ant balances itself upright using two leaves while a water drop is about to fall.

Photo

Dragonfly Delirium

A sleeping dragonfly is covered in early morning dew, giving the effect that it is swimming in a pool of soap bubbles.

Photo

Globalization

A bird’s eye view of a container port with the swathes of containers creating a symmetrical effect of beauty and elegance.

"General - Black & White" Category

Photo

To Catch a Blessing

A woman pushing past other worshippers trying to catch holy ‘Prasad’; a religious ritual celebrated by Hindus in rural West Bengal, India.

Photo

The Peace Village

For many young victims of war, medical treatment in Europe is their last chance for survival. An initiative established in 1967 by German citizens has helped many children over the years to come to Europe for medical treatment and rehabilitation. Upon successful medical treatment and rehabilitation, the children return to their native countries and families.

Photo

Flood of Loneliness

An elderly woman living alone in the Arunachal Pradesh province in Northern India is clutching her head in agony. Living in a remote tribal region with no support from family or friends has taken a toll on the 85 year old.

"Portfolio" Category

Silence of the Mansion

An abandoned mansion lies in ruin. The memories and belongings of its former occupants are all that is left within its walls. The chairs, bedrooms, a piano, a book and even an old painting of young children, fail to tell the full story of the people and lives that once lived here.

Six Degrees South

Poor coastal communities around the world are suffering as a result of industrialised fishing expeditions and the slow rise in sea levels. The next 20 years will likely see fishermen and their communities all negatively affected by this phenomenon and possibly leading to millions having to abandon the shores and move into urban areas inland.

Underwater Dreams

A beautiful mixture of contemporary, underwater, fashion and portrait photography all infused into a group of photographs like never before. Elegance and beauty can tell a story even in the least conventional settings.

Digging for the Future

Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in the world, yet ranks fourth in Africa's production of gold. Much of this gold comes from small-scale mines, where children work alongside their parents from dawn to dusk in very hazardous conditions. Mines collapse frequently, and the working environment is intoxicated with dangerous chemicals like mercury, which is used in the process of extracting gold.

Rebirth

A major earthquake measuring 8.0 on the Richter scale jolted China's Sichuan Province on May 12th , 2008, killing over 87,000 people and injuring about 37,000. The photographer rushed to the quake zone and took many photographs of the disaster scenes and affected people. One year later, the photographer returned to Sichuan to re-visit the affected people he’d photographed. He did the same five years after that.

 

Share on Facebook

الفائزون

"التحدي"

الصورة

راقصة الباليه في مكبّ النفايات

فتاة تبحث عن الأشياء القابلة لإعادة التدوير في مكبٍ للنفايات في منطقة "جواهاتي" بالهند. هناك مجتمع صغير يعيش داخل هذا المكب ويعملون كفريقٍ واحد، بعضهم حافي القدمين، ويحقّقون من فرز جبال القمامة أقل من 2 دولار يومياً. ويشاركهم العمل طائر اللقلق المعرّض للانقراض، وبعض الأبقار والكلاب. وتتكدّس القمامة بأكوامٍ عاليةٍ لدرجةٍ يظهر معها خطر الانهيار في أي وقت. الرائحة النتنة والأدخنة المنبعثة قوية وثقيلة ويزيدها سوءً براز الحيوانات والديدان التي تسبح في محيطٍ من النفايات. منازل أصحاب هذا المجتمع ليس فيها مصادر كهرباء أو مياه، يعيشون في بيئة ملوّثة للغاية، مع فرصٍ شبه معدومة للهرب.

الصورة

فراشة في الماء

سبّاح مبتور الكفّين متّشح بالوشوم يشارك في بطولة السباحة الإيطالية للمعاقين، وهو من أبطال 200 متر فردي متنوّع.

الصورة

العلم هو السلاح الأقوى

صبي فلسطيني في طريقه إلى المدرسة يمر بجانب رجل مسلّح في مخيَم للاجئين الفلسطينيين بلبنان، الأطفال هناك يُجبرون على اختيار أمر من اثنين عندما يكبرون. إما الانضمام لجماعة مسلّحة أو التركيز على التعليم الذي سيكون نقطة انطلاق لمستقبلٍ أكثر إشراقاً.

الصورة

صراع البقاء

نسران من ذوي الذيل الأبيض يتصارعان على حصص الغذاء في السهول المجرية الباردة. مبارزة الكبار مهيبة وقد تودي بأحدهم للموت سعياً للغلبة وتأمين الغذاء خلال شهور الشتاء القاسية.

الصورة

اكبر سريعاً

في مخيم للاجئين السوريين على الحدود السورية الأردنية، لا نرى الكبار في الصورة لأنهم ذهبوا للبحث عن عمل. نرى هذه الفتاة الصغيرة التي تعاني ظروفاً معيشية صعبة، تحمل أختها الرضيعة المغطاّة ببطانيةٍ قديمةٍ مُتسخة.

الصورة

ملائكة العيادة

الوقت يمر ببطء شديد في عيادة السرطان للأطفال في "نوفوسيبيرسك" في روسيا. وعلى الرغم من التحديات والصعوبات التي يواجهها الأطفال، يبتسمون ويلعبون وكأن كل شيء على ما يُرام.

"التلاعب الرقمي"

الصورة

طبيعة

منذ العصور القديمة يعتقد الكثيرون أن العالم الذي نعيش فيه يشبه سفينة واحدة لديها نفس الروح والعقل. كيان على قيد الحياة مرتبط بالمكوّنات الأخرى التي تتشابه مع بعضها البعض ولديها خصائص مشتركة. الطبيعة الأم هي مزيج متناغم من مجموعة متنوّعة من النباتات والحيوانات، وهو مايمثّل الخصوبة والاستمرارية والاتحاد.

الصورة

نهر الحياة

حياتنا والوقت الذي نمضيه على الأرض أشبه مايكون بالنهر، كونه لا ينتظر أحداً حتى يصل وجهته النهائية. جمال هذه الصورة لا يكمن فقط في تجسيدها للطفولة ومكانتها باعتبارها بر الأمان، ولكن الانجراف للمجهول في نهاية المطاف عندما يصل الإنسان لسن الشيخوخة.

الصورة

إلهاء

مع الانتشار الكبير لتكنولوجيا الهواتف الذكية، أصبح استخدام الهاتف المحمول أثناء القيادة ممارسة شائعة بين السائقين الشباب للأسف الشديد. الحقيقة المُرّة أن هذه التكنولوجيا التي جعلت حياتنا أسهل، أصبحت في نواحٍ أخرى قاتلاً صامتاً.

الصورة

عندما تكبر حواء

تعيش الذكريات في الإنسان كالورود في المزهرية. بعض الذكريات تُزهر داخله وبعضها تذبل في عقله تاركة رصيداً من الألم طوال حياته. الأمر متروك لصاحب الذكريات لينتقي الجميل منها ويتجاوز مادون ذلك.

الصورة

غرق

كثير من البشر يعانون من الاكتئاب والقلق بشكلٍ يوميّ. هذه الأمراض قد تنشأ في سنٍ مبكّرة وتسيطر على صاحبها حيث يكبر، ممايؤدّي إلى ظروفٍ حياتيةٍ صعبة لاحقاً. لكن مع الدعم المناسب والتوجيه يمكن لأصعب الحالات أن تتحسّن وصولاً للانتصار الكامل على المرض.

"العام - ملون "

الصورة

لتوازن

نملة صغيرة توازن نفسها بشكلٍ عموديّ بين ورقتي شجر بينما قطرة الماء على وشك السقوط.

الصورة

هذيان اليعسوب

يعسوب نائم وقد غطّته طبقة من الندى في الصباح الباكر، ما يوحي للناظر أنه يسبح في بركةٍ من فقاعات الصابون.

الصورة

العولمة

مشهد علويّ لميناء حاويات مع مساحاتٍ كبيرة من الحاويات المتراصة التي تمنح الإيحاء بالجمال والأناقة.

"العام - أبيض وأسود "

الصورة

طلب البركة

امرأة تتدافع مع العُبّاد الآخرين في محاولة للإمساك ب"براساد"، طقس ديني يحتفل به الهندوس في ولاية غرب البنغال في الهند.

الصورة

قرية السلام

بالنسبة لكثير من الأطفال من ضحايا الحرب، العلاج في أوروبا هو الفرصة الأخيرة للنجاة. وقد ساعدت مبادرة تأسّست عام 1967 من قبل المواطنين الألمان، العديد من الأطفال لعلاجهم في أوروبا وإعادة تأهيلهم. وبعد نجاح العلاج وإعادة التأهيل، تتم إعادتهم إلى أسرهم وبلدانهم الأصلية.

الصورة

فيضان الوحدة

امرأة مسنّة بعمر 85 عاماً تعيش وحيدة في محافظة "اروناتشال براديش" في شمال الهند، تمسك رأسها متألّمة بسبب عزلتها وغياب أهلها وأصدقائها عنها في تلك المنطقة القبلية النائية.

"ملف مصور"

صمت القصر

قصر مهجور مُهدّم. ذكريات وممتلكات من كانوا يسكنونه هي كل مابقي بين جدرانه، لقد فشلت الكراسي وغرف النوم، وبيانو وكتاب وحتى لوحة قديمة لأطفالٍ صغار، في رواية قصة حياة الأشخاص الذين عاشوا هنا.

ست درجات جنوباً

يعاني أصحاب المجتمعات الساحلية الفقيرة في جميع أنحاء العالم من حملات الصيد الصناعية والارتفاع البطيء في مستوى سطح البحر. من المرجّح أن يعاني الصيادون ومجتمعاتهم من صعوباتٍ جمّة خلال العشرين عاماً القادمة، وقد يضطر الملايين للتخلي عن حياة الشاطئ والانتقال للمناطق الحضرية الداخلية.

أحلام ماتحت الماء

مزيج جميل من التصوير المفاهيمي تحت الماء، مع تصوير الأزياء والوجوه، اتحدّوا سوياً بطريقةٍ جذّابة بصرياً. الجمال والأناقة قادران على رواية القصص حتى في الأماكن الغريبة غير التقليدية.

التنقيب عن المستقبل

تُعتبر بوركينافاسو من أفقر البلدان في العالم، مع أنها في المرتبة الرابعة إفريقياً في إنتاج الذهب. نسبة كبيرة من الذهب تأتي من مناجم صغيرة الحجم، حيث يعمل الأطفال مع آبائهم من الفجر حتى الغروب في ظروفٍ خطرة جداً. المناجم تنهار في كثيرٍ من الأحيان بجانب بيئة العمل السامة بسبب المواد الكيميائية الخطرة مثل الزئبق الذي يُستخدم في عملية استخراج الذهب.

الولادة من جديد

ضرب زلزال بقوة 8 درجات على مقياس ريختر مقاطعة سيتشوان الصينية يوم 12 مايو 2008 ، وتسبّب في مقتل أكثر من 87,000 شخص وإصابة نحو 37,000 آخرين. هرع مصور إلى منطقة الزلزال والتقط الكثير من صور الكارثة والمصابين. بعد عامٍ واحد عاد المصور إلى سيتشوان وزار المصابين مجدّداً وصوّرهم. وبعد خمسة سنوات كرّر نفس الأمر مرة أخرى.

 

التحدي 2016-2017

صورة اليوم

Share on Facebook